On Waiting….

by Karen Moses, Certified DoxaSoma Instructor/Instructor Mentor
Waiting for anything in life can be stressful if the
end result is all we look for. On the other hand many
interesting things can take place during that time of
waiting. We never know what lessons to expect to
learn, but increasing expectations for the waiting
time can bring joy and understanding.

This winter our snowblower has broken down numerous
times. Every time it stops working we have to wait at
least a week for the repair crew to come to our house.
Of course we can’t let the snow pile up for a week so
we find other tools to assist us during the wait.
Shoveling may not be as quick and it certainly is more
tiring, but it is all together more strengthening.

Of course when I’m running late to work I get stuck at
the longest traffic lights. After moments of
stressing out over the tardy factor I remembered the
verse, “Be still and know that I am God.” Breathe.
Instead of staring at the light that isn’t changing to
green I nothice the trees across the street that are
being blown by the wind, but not knocked down. What
beauty, what strength, this is an image I can take
with me to work.

Many of us are waiting on God to do something in our
lives over the course of some unknown time line. I’m
waiting to find my niche in the world of ministry, to
meet my future spouse, and to see my friends and
coworkers surrender their lives to Christ and be set
free. We are all waiting for the fullness of His
kingdom to be revealed. If I look too hard for these
things I stress out and doubts start to arise. But if
I trust that our Father has perfect timing then I can
turn my gaze toward Jesus and ask what He is doing in
this time. Oh Lord, open our eyes to the greater
picture as we wait. Let us enjoy your beauty and your
strength both in nature and people.

“Blessed is the man who listens to me, watching daily
at my doors, waiting at my doorway.” Proverbs 8:3-4

“I am coming soon. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.” Jesus

Leave a Reply

