workmanship…by Debbi Ladwig

It all started with a snag. A single strand of yarn had been torn. How, I don’t even know. But, before long, the intricate stitches that held together my beloved cable-knit sweater began to unravel. The sweater that had become a favorite has now become all undone. Major trouble started with a minor snag. And the sad condition of my sweater – the unraveliong of its wonderfully complex design – got me thinking about a Psalm of David’s.

Here is a portion of it:

David acknowledges that God “…made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – and how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb” (Psalm 139:13-15, NLT)

What makes the human design so wonderful goes beyond the amazing complexities of cells and tissues, and organs and arteries. God has intricately woven together an intellect with emotions with a physical body with a soul. All interdependent. Altogether uniquely human. The condition I’m in at any given time has everything to do with how I’m knit together. When physically fatigued, my brain often becomes fried and my emotions raw with vulnerability. Emotional stress strains my physical well-being. And when snags in my schedule cause my spirit to suffer for lack of time spent with my Lord, you know it… theunraveling begins.

In these daysof jam-packed schedules, economic uncertainties, and demands coming at us from all sides, how DO we keep it all together? I believe that, when Jesus restates the commandment from the Book of Deuteronomy, “You must love the Lord yor God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength”(Mark 12:30, NLT), He is giving us a prescription – preventative medicine, actually – for holistic health. By honoring God with all that I am – body, soul, spirit, mind – I respect the fact that His workmanship is, indeed,marvelous. And, I truly believe that He, in turn, honors my appreciation of both the design and the Designer. And… that all may go well with me.

Leave a Reply

