Strength…

What gives you strength?
It’s interesting today as I ponder the idea of strength building. What builds strength is actually that which exhausts us often. On a physical level strength training is all about hypertrophy, which is the process of increasing the muscle mass. We do this by lifting more weight that we do on a regular, walking around the house kind of way…or by doing it more often (repetition.) When we do this we actually create little microtears in the muscle. Taking a day off between weighted workouts allows the muscle time to repair itself and when it does it heals stronger than it was before. The next time you do that workout your muscles actually remember and recruit more muscles fibers to lift that weight. Over time you become stronger.

Take a moment just consider how this mirrors your spiritual life. How do you challenge those “muscles?” Are you willing to move out of your comfort zone to gain some spiritual strength? When you consider that prospect, what comes to you?

One Response

  1. Waiting. “Waiting” comes to mind. I’m not particularly fond of waiting. Waiting is hard. In my DoxaSoma practice, I’ll challenge myself to wait, taking a particular stance and holding it for 30 seconds, a minute, maybe more. And, like I said, waiting is hard. So, when I finally move, I breathe a sigh of relief. But, because I can hold a position even longer the next time I try it, I know that I am gaining strength.

    Likewise, waiting for God to move is hard. When my husband left home, I took a stance to wait for his return. That was over 6-1/2 years ago. Waiting for him – waiting for God to make a way for him to come home – is hard. Really hard sometimes. But, because I’m holding to that position, I know that I am gaining strength – in my emotional health; in my ability to love God and others; in my prayer life. Both my resolve and my faith have been strengthened through the wait.

    And… according to James, waiting is making me quite the character! “…[W]hen your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything” (James 1:3,4,NLT).

    Waiting is hard. But I can attest to the benefits. And, when God finally moves, I expect to be ready. The first thing I’ll do is breathe a sigh of relief.

Leave a Reply

