Eat.

You know, I think what I want most for you is awareness.

When I begin to work with someone on getting fit I will start with lists.  I want lists of what you eat, how you eat, when you eat…

What I want to know is simply, “are you aware?”

I eat without thinking more often than I care to admit.  It’s easy to do this.  It’s HARD to pay attention to what I choose as fuel.  The lie is that it’s so often much more satisfying to eat fast food and junk food than properly fueling my body.  It feels true but we all know that the cost of this eating is high, much higher than the cost of having a personal trainer.

The other thing I want you to know is that you cannot out run a bad diet.  Make the changes you need to make, long term, life changes.

Make your goal in looking at your diet one that is reasonable….set short term goals: limit sweets in a given day, eat more vegetables, drink more water…these are small steps to a long term goal.  Make your long term goal with fitness in mind, not clothing size.

I’m not going to tell you that you can never again eat a piece of candy. I love candy…a whole lot.  Choose well for your body overall and I promise you will find that “sometimes” treat much more satisfying.  It will take time but it will happen.

Leave a Reply

