one thing…

My life is overstuffed…loads of bills, people, correspondence and laundry to attend each day. The list never seems to get shorter.  I don’t think I’m alone in this.

These are the days when I start to think that I’d make an excellent hermit or monk.  If I could pair everything down (not the family, mind you…just the “stuff” they comes with ’em) I think it could all be do-able.  There are at least three things working against me to becoming a monk the first being the fact that I’m a woman, the second that I’m married and the third that I am the parent of small children…so I resign myself to the fantasy that “there” is better than “here.”

I don’t have to tell you that this is false, do I? I don’t have to convince you that the grass isn’t greener or that what I don’t have is better or that any one beauty product or pill will improve what ails me.  I do have to convince myself of it…in the moment…when things are at the pinnacle of crazy around my house.

The only way I can do that is to keep telling myself over and over to focus on one thing at a time and to remember a wise statement I hear in my head all the time.  Comparison is the enemy of joy.  I find, in my worst moments that I am reacting NOT to what’s going on around me but rather, what I perceive to be the reality of everyone else…that my neighbor parents her children without yelling…that my friend thinks ahead and organizes her life…that the barrista has more fun that I do…ack…it’s giving me stress even typing about it.

So, my commitment this Advent season is simple: Be present, where I am right now. Do one thing at a time and resist the temptation to compare myself to those around me.  That’s my focus this season.

Leave a Reply

