Advent reflections…

Hello all!

I’ll be attempting to post thoughts on the season of Advent a few times a week on my Mrs Metaphor blog and my Orthodoxy blog if you’d like to join me for those.

In addition, I’ll be posting here daily as well, giving you a position and some brief word on which to focus if you’d like!

For today, however I will simply post the poem I wrote one year at this time and hope it meets you somewhere interesting as we begin the season of Advent.

Advent: sound and water

the season shift

not always conveyed

by weather or intention

I yield then

to other channels-

shopping or television,

blinking lights

adding population

to otherwise bare porches

pulsing noise

into my arms

coursing into my veins

a river I cannot ride

only swim

only drown

until, through the din

of sound and water

it comes-

a small child,

voice cutting through

the low hanging trees

of branches stinging

the singing rocks

the timbre ringing

takes my face

between two soft hands

each time I look away

with tenderness and

firm conviction

intoning-

look here

see this now

©2010adc

Leave a Reply

